Posted by: prosperingchristians | March 8, 2010

Beware of Kenya Orphans Scam


I am very sad to report that a few of our members have been duped out of money by a man by the name of Apostle George Morara Onsarigo. He is asking for money to support the orphans in Kenya and apparently he is using the money for himself. He collects money by wire transfer.

There are reports that he has built an eight bedroom house in the last two years from orphan donations. There are also reports that he has called several people, including myself, claiming to be in Mombasa, when he is really sitting in a cyber cafe working from his laptop computer.

He told me that he was due to pick up a shipment of goods and needed $115.00 to pay for freight. He also asked me to set up an account under Prospering Christians and to name him on the account so that he could deposit $100,000 into it. When I refused, he asked me for my personal bank account number and I told him I would never do that. He wanted me to locate a Barclay’s Bank to deposit the money. He said the shipment was worth $7.2 million USD.

I told him I would not do anything illegal and after hearing that I would not be sending him anymore money, he signed off of the chat that we were having.

I have since received reports from two individuals that he is not who he says he is and that he duped them or tried to dupe them out of money. I am warning you not to send this man money for orphans. He has not told us the name of the orphanage or the school he wants us to sponsor. He has pictures of his orphans on his website. He has changed his address two times since our first contact with him in October.

He claims he was thrown out of his house in Kitale Kenya and was living with friends in Nairobi. His recent address is a P.O. Box in Nairobi.

When deciding to conduct business online or to get involved with these ministries we must heed Jesus’ warning, “”Watch out for false prophets. They come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ferocious wolves.” (Matthew:15) NIV.

World Prayer

Responses

  1. Greetings All Saints ,
    I greet you all in the name of Jesus Christ .
    Its really astonishing that people can come up and decide to send such kind of false information to the saints saying all the above against me .
    I know that its very common for people to operate in envy and jealousy against each other .

    I have not built a 8 bedroomed house in the last years and i dont have my own of such type.

    ITS VERY ILLEGAL TO SAY THAT A FEW HAVE BEEN DUPED OF MONEY BY ME ,THE ONLY MONEY I HAVE RECEIVED WAS FROM GAIL AND ITS $ 80 IN TOTAL .
    I used to have a Laptop but currently i dont have any so whoever whose reporting this must be a great angel of the satan .
    I re located to Nairobi because i wanted to cover the whole of Kenya and thats why i opened a new post office number so that i can transact my ministry things as called by God from a given area.
    Almost half of the saints who are on Prospering Christians are my long term friends and infact most of them have visited the works here and seen for themselves what God is doing .
    I have been charting with Sister Gail more than 10 times since i collectede the shipment and i dont really know why change and impersonate my name and ministry like this .

    I AM APPEALING TO HER AND WHO EVER TO COME AND SEE THIS THINGS ON THE GROUND INSTEAD OF BEING SWAYED BY SELF IMPOSED APOSTLES WHO ARE EXPERTS IN HIJACKING PEOPLES VISIONS AND MISSIONS .
    I AM GOING TO RE -READ THIS STATEMENT AND I WILL GIVE A COMPRENSIVE REPORT .
    God blessings and i can See clearly the satanic fingers in the report .
    If there is any one who thinkd that this information is collect or feels that he has been duped of cash can send a message or report to this blog so that we see if its really true .
    Lastly i call all my friends who i had invited to this group PROSPERING CHRISTIANS TO CEASE OR SUSPEND THERE MEMBERSHIP UNTIL THIS IS ADDREESED PROPERLY .
    Apostle George Morara Onsarigo

    apopstlegeorgekenya@hotmail.com

  2. Sorry for my bad english. Thank you so much for your good post. Your post helped me in my college assignment, If you can provide me more details please email me.

    • Why don’t you e-mail me with any questions you might have? Thanks for using the post in your assignment.

  3. It is unfortunate this page has been here. I have a pesonal experience with this “Apostle George Morara Onsarigo” {of which he’s not} since i come from his home town Kisii Kenya. I met him after my O level while working in a supplies office afetr which we became close, he then told me that he’s working on a cetain ministry by then he was designing a website called ” http://www.rieverofrevivalministries.com” which stays abandoned to date to feature orphans and widows. He initiated a “scholarship training” of around 15 (fifteen youngsters) me included to take a guidance and counselling course at an institution which he never paid our fee citing that the sponsor “Rich Elliot” (from abroad) was to wire our fee and our allowances (students). It was during this training period that “we” somehow became convinced that this project was real! Since we were enrolled in a renown college and attending lectures. It is during this time that “we” gave him money (me personally a tune of 8000 shillings) to purpotedly process my passport) so that as a team leader i may accompany him to overseas for a conference with the sponsors. Along that the curriculum for the lectures was coming to an end and someone needed the school fees cleared. With growing pressure on him HE DECIDED TO MOVE OUT THE HOMEOWN KISII TO NAIROBI AND CHANGED HIS PHONE CONTACTS TO A LADY WHO RESPONDS THAT TO BE WRONG NUMBER. AM WILLING TO WORK WITH ANY ONE WHO IS WILLING TO PIN DOWN THIS GUY.

  4. Now I understand exactly what was going on. Why would he do that mmmh. Danson have you tried to reach him and your friends and claim your money back

  5. have any of you ever heard of Save Haven Children’s Foundation in Kisii, Kenya? There is a couple people in Hamilton, Ontario who are asking for money by email transfer for this orphanage. They want money to buy bicycles etc. It all seems very bizarre. You can also reply to tundrabiotch@live.ca
    thanks
    Deb

    • I have not heard of the group, but if you are getting a check in your spirit, you need to heed the warning. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers