Posted by: prosperingchristians | December 29, 2010

A Time to Plan…..


We are entering into a new year and it is time to reflect about the past year and the plans that God has for us. God has promised that if we “seek Him with all our hearts, we will find Him.” What a blessing it is to discover the Lord’s plan for us!

Many of us have our own plans and would rather follow them without the Lord’s input, but I know personally that can only lead to less than God”s plan for prosperity for us. Similarly, if we try to follow another one’s plan because we see that it is working, it could fail because that is not what God had intended for us and we could get disappointed. This is not what wants for us and it would behoove us to be diligent about following God’s leading for the plan.

God has given each one of us a set of spiritual gifts, talents, and skills so that we could prosper. He has put all of the gifts in the church so that it could be well-balanced. (I Corinthians 12). There will be people with the same gifts, but their experiences and the degree of the development of the gift would make it impossible for someone else to duplicate your plan. God as set aside the blessings for us according to how we use the gifts and talents and no one else can receive a blessing for your plan.

Over twenty years ago, someone had prophesied how I would be using with my spiritual gifts and talents. I had my doubts at the time, because nothing had ever transpired. I tried to work the plan way back then, but I could not get it off the ground. I lacked the wisdom to do it and it was not in God’s timing.

I have in recent years fallen into the plan and have had God speak to me about it. It is interesting because when I first heard the prophecy, I was not a Christian. As a matter of fact, I was not attending a church and I was not in a relationship with the Lord. About one year later, Jesus revealed himself to me – I saw a vision of him sitting on his throne with a scepter.

When I became a born again Christian, someone prayed for the revealing of God’s plan to me. I then prayed for the plan myself using Psalm 139:13-16 and Jeremiah 29:11-14 incorporated into the prayer. God revealed the same plan.

Since then, I have heard this prophecy several times over the last twelve years and the very same words that were originally spoken to me have been spoken to me recently. My point in sharing this is that God’s plan for us is in his own timing. If we try to get ahead of the plan, it will fail and it could set us back. He has to prepare us and equip us to follow his plan. “Patience must have its perfect work so that we are mature and complete, lacking nothing.” (James 1:4) There is peace and joy when we are ready.

My prayer is that you will seek God with all your heart in his plan for you so that you can receive the blessings that he has prepared for you. Praying James 1:4 would ensure that you are equipped to carry out God’s purpose.

Leave a Reply

Categories