Posted by: prosperingchristians | December 30, 2016

A Savior is Born

merry-christmas-2016

Another Year has passed and we are celebrating the birth of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. A time of joy spent with family and friends, but to some, just another day in the struggle.

As Christians, we are grateful that we know the Lord and that we can rely and trust in him for solutions to our problems. It is hard to imagine what we would do without Jesus in our lives. But to others, they are oblivious to what the Lord can do for them. Before we came to Christ, that is how we lived.
To those who are new to the Lord, he came to die for our sins. He came to save us from a life of destruction. There were prophesies about the coming of Jesus, who was called the Messiah, in the Old Testament. Here are a few of them:

1. Deuteronomy 18:15 “The Lord thy God will raise up unto thee a Prophet from the midst of thee, of thy brethren, like unto me; unto him ye shall hearken.” This refers to the Messiah who would be a prophet like Moses. In the New Testament, the woman at the well refers to Jesus as a prophet in John 4:19, “The woman saith unto him, Sir, I perceive that thou art a prophet.” As the woman spoke with Jesus at the well, he could tell her things about herself without knowing her previously.

2. 2 Samuel 7:12, 13 “And when thy days be fulfilled, and thou shalt sleep with thy fathers, I will set up thy seed after thee, which shall proceed out of thy bowels, and I will establish his kingdom. He shall build an house for my name, and I will stablish the throne of his kingdom forever. He shall build an house for my name, and I will stablish the throne of his kingdom for ever.” This refers to the Lord Jesus Christ who will be a descendant of David and will have an everlasting kingdom.

4, Isaiah 7:14, “Therefore the Lord himself shall give you a sign; Behold, a virgin shall conceive, and bear a son, and shall call his name Immanuel.” This is the prophecy that the Messiah would be born of a virgin and his name would be Immanuel. Luke 1:35 “And the angel answered and said unto her, The Holy Ghost shall come upon thee, and the power of the Highest shall overshadow thee: therefore also that holy thing which shall be born of thee shall be called the Son of God.” This is a description of the Virgin birth.

5. Isaiah 42:1 “Behold my servant, whom I uphold; mine elect, in whom my soul delighteth; I have put my spirit upon him: he shall bring forth judgment to the Gentiles.” 6 “I the Lord have called thee in righteousness, and will hold thine hand, and will keep thee, and give thee for a covenant of the people, for a light of the Gentiles;” The Messiah would be a light unto the world. Jesus came with a New Covenant. Matthew 12:18 “Behold my servant, whom I have chosen; my beloved, in whom my soul is well pleased: I will put my spirit upon him, and he shall shew judgment to the Gentiles.

These are just a few of the verses which foreshadowed the coming of the Lord to the Virgin Mary as the Savior of his people. Jesus came to save us and he came with a New Covenant so that we would not have to endure the punishments for sin under the Law, which the ancient Israelites endured, but instead we would be saved by God’s grace – we would be forgiven and grace would cover our sins.

I am thankful that God sent his Son as the redeemer of the world!

Leave a Reply

Categories